The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Waltham Pre-School received an accreditation which is an award that recognises the quality of our provision in the following areas:

  • Quality of Early Years curriculum
  • Quality of teaching
  • Assessment of the children's progress towards the Early Learning Goals
  • Generous staff ratios
  • Safe, secure outside play area with safety flooring

We can therefore assure parents and everyone in the community of our highest standard of quality care and education. This is an endorsement of the excellent inspection report received from Ofsted, which deemed us 'good'.

Our curriculum is based on the governments EYFS, revised in 2008, and is monitored by Ofsted.  The EYFS covers all areas of development from birth to the academic year in which your child is five.

The four themes of the EYFS are:

A Unique Child - Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.

Positive Relationships - Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and / or keyperson.

Enabling Environments - The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Learning and Development - Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.

Click Here